Homesickness or the lack thereof

What’s up guys, how are you doing?

We already posted today, but it was more of an update on what we’ve been up to as opposed to anything that could really be very beneficial to you, so here we are again to address homesickness.  Or lack thereof.

While Maria and I are pretty alike in a surprising amount of ways, we do differ in that she has been missing home since arriving here, and honestly, I have not.  It is totally normal for a college freshman to feel either way despite how often you might hear otherwise.  Yeah, a lot of people become homesick in the first few weeks of college.  The school itself will probably warn everyone about that beforehand during one of many meetings you’ll attend as an incoming freshman.  But a lot of people react completely different, and I happen to fall into that category.

It’s not that I don’t miss my parents or siblings (which is what they have taken to teasing me about), because obviously I do.  I miss Maria as soon as I don’t see her for half a day, so honestly, they’re sort of crazy for believing otherwise.  I do not, however, have this sickening longing to return to the place I came from anytime soon.  I needed a break, I needed a fresh start, and I needed new faces.  I have that here, and I’m happy.  And when I go home for the first time in November for Thanksgiving break and see all of my aunts, uncles, cousins, friends, parents, siblings, and my dog, I know that I will be happy to see them and all will be well. 

That’s the mindset I’ve upheld since getting here a little over two weeks ago, and it’s only wavered once.  

I’m going to remind you of the small town that I came from in Wisconsin so that you can keep that in mind.  That small town was mainly made up of Catholics and Lutherans (fundamentalist Lutherans, I should say), and that is literally all I’ve ever known.  So you can imagine the culture shock I experienced when I showed up at Butler University where my freshman class’s population is greater than my town’s population, and I’ve yet to find anyone who even believes mildly the same thing I do.  Where they call it “creationism” instead of simply “Creation.”  Where I thought I was prepared for my faith to be challenged but, in reality, couldn’t have been less prepared.

And that is what sort of attacked that great mindset I’d had.  It was nothing huge: just one night with some friends who were debating about I don’t even remember what, and all I could do was sit with my mouth shut because all of a sudden I felt like the only person in existence on the entire campus.  I’ll probably never be able to describe exactly what I began to feel, but I had never felt so lonely since arriving here.  Back home, everyone believed the same things I did.  We all believed in God, we believed in Creation, we didn’t believe in evolution, etc.  We could always freely talk about it without feeling singled out in any way.  That’s not how things are here, and basically, it was a rough wake-up call.  

I spent the entire night trying to come to terms with that, and I got eleven hours of sleep that night, which, you know, was good.  But I can honestly say that that night, I was very homesick.  Other than that moment, though, not so much.

So my point is that it will be different for everybody, and even if you relate more with me than you do with what Maria has to say, you still might have moments just like I did.  It’s normal.  Being homesick is normal.  Not being homesick is normal.  There is nothing wrong with you either way.

 

P.S. C-Dawg is not a thing.

– Carissa

 

~♕~

 

*tink tink* hello!! 

Okay, so homesickness. Yuck. Let me preface this by saying I am a homebody. As previously mentioned, I spent most of my weekends hanging out with my parental units. I rarely went out with friends, and when I did I always wanted to be home before too late so I could say goodnight to my mum and dad (and my pup of course!!!!!!). So I was aware that college was going to be a slight if not severe struggle for me.

One of the reasons I picked Butler, though, was because I am only 5 and a half hours away from home- twenty minutes away from my sis. At first, I just thought of this as a summer camp (still kinda do), but now I am beginning to realize that I won’t see my parental units and my pup until October. MIDDLE OF OCTOBER!? To say it’s been a little rough is definitely an understatement. I have been getting mail frequently (I love mail), and I talk to them on the phone often enough, but it isn’t the same as seeing them in person.

I’ve been occupied most of the time though, so that’s a good distraction. There are times when I am happy to be away from them and experience this semi-freedom. I don’t have a bed time? I don’t have to eat veggies (I totally still eat veggies, love me some veggies)? I don’t have to do anything I don’t want to do. Does that mean I constantly make rash decisions like stay out all night, eat nothing but junk, not do my homework, sleep through class? Hell no. 

It hasn’t been as hard on Carissa, mostly because she left home precisely to get away and experience life. A few days ago in the cafeteria was a serious slap in the face to her, one I couldn’t necessarily relate to on that kind of level. She’s a strong girl though, and was able to rub it off after drowning in music while her roomie (me *jazz hands*) gave her space by leaving her to herself for two hours.To be honest though, that’s the kind of person I am. I have separation anxiety- so like Carissa mentioned, I miss her when she doesn’t get home until 8:30 on Wednesdays. Therefore the fact that I miss my parents is not surprising, what is surprising is the fact that I haven’t started crying from missing them so much. So go me! 

Regardless, homesickness or lack thereof is unique to each person. Some people may be homesick but not so homesick that they cry, while some may bawl because they miss home so much. Some may not care when they will see their parents next, and some could miss them but not be homesick. Truth is, you may not really know until you experience it for yourself.

Hope this helps, feel free to contact Carissa and/or me for anymore questions or requests for topics to cover.

xox,

M

 

P.S. C-dawg IS a thing

Leave a Reply

